Only a few states, such as Connecticut and Rhode Island, require gun buyers to show evidence of gun safety training before purchasing a firearm. Others, like North Dakota and South Carolina, don’t impose this requirement.
Michigan falls somewhere in the middle. The only form of mandatory safety training for gun owners in the Great Lake State is the requirement to pass a state-certified course to obtain the Michigan Concealed Pistol License (CPL), the state’s concealed carry license.
To ensure you meet the legal criteria before buying a firearm, find a gun owner safety training course in Michigan. Learn what to expect from a typical course and other facts regarding gun safety training in the Great Lake State.
How Many Gun Owners Have Safety Training in Michigan?
According to Michigan law, it is unlawful for residents to carry a concealed handgun without a valid Michigan Concealed Pistol License (CPL). While it is impossible to know how many Michigan gun owners have received safety training, one of the state’s requirements for all CPL applicants is to submit proof of completion of a certified firearm training class.
Data compiled by the Rand Corporation suggests that at least 6 in 10 gun owners nationwide have received formal gun owner safety training, with many more receiving informal training and knowledge from friends and family. This suggests that most gun owners take steps to be as safe and responsible as possible, even when not required by law.
Most Michigan gun owners and the vast majority of Michigan CPL holders have received at least one form of formal gun owner safety training to become safe gun owners.
What to Expect From a Michigan Gun Owner Safety Training Course
By law, a valid Michigan CPL class must be at least 8 hours long and include at least 5 hours of classroom-based firearm safety education and at least 3 hours of live-fire practice at a shooting range.
The classroom portion of a typical Michigan gun owner safety training course begins with an explanation of basic firearm safety rules, such as the Four Rules of Gun Safety.
You’ll also learn essential firearm knowledge, such as how to distinguish different types of guns and calibers, how ammunition works, and the basic anatomy of typical handguns. The classroom will also cover the basics of safe gun storage, such as how to operate a gun safe or how to find the best locations to install one in the home.
Instructors will provide basic information on handling firearms in a safe and controlled environment, such as handgun grips and stances, controlling the trigger and aligning the sights, and which bad habits to avoid. They will also provide basic information regarding self-defense laws in Michigan, how to avoid a confrontation, and what to do during a defensive situation.
During interactions with law enforcement in Michigan, citizens are legally required to inform officers whether they are carrying a concealed firearm. This statute makes Michigan a Must Inform state. To help new gun owners comply with the law, the class will also teach gun owners how to act as a concealed carrying citizen when pulled over and how to inform a police officer one is carrying a firearm.
Shooting Range Portion
Certified instructors supervise the shooting range portion. It is an opportunity for new gun owners to practice what they’ve learned in the classroom portion and hone their shooting skills.
If you already have your own firearm, you can bring it, alongside appropriate magazines and ammunition, to this part of the class. If you don’t yet have your own gun, most classes will offer loaner firearms and sell ammunition for use during the range portion.
While Michigan law states that every applicant must fire at least 30 rounds during this portion of the class, you will likely be encouraged to shoot more to improve the training quality.
Near the end of the range portion, you must pass a test to prove you have achieved basic firearm proficiency. The test is a drill against a 25.5” by 11” blank target at 4 yards.
You must fire 5 rounds in each drill, and you will need to repeat the drill 3 times. You must hit 5 out of 5 shots fired in at least 2 of 3 drills to get a passing grade. If you pass the test, you will receive a firearm safety certificate, which you can use to apply for a Michigan CPL.
Receive Gun Owner Safety Training in Michigan with IFA Tactical
The best way to learn everything you need to know about firearm safety is to take a class from professionals with years of experience.
Whether you are new to firearms or have experience shooting guns, the IFA Tactical Training Center is the best place to learn more about gun safety. We offer multiple classes and training courses supervised by experienced instructors to ensure you receive the best and most comprehensive training possible.
Contact us today to learn more about our gun owner safety training classes.