Classes

CPL Classes in Michigan

As a gun owner, you have the Constitutional right to protect yourself. If you reside in Michigan and are looking to protect yourself in public with a concealed firearm, you’ll need the Michigan Concealed Pistol License (CPL).

A core requirement to obtain your CPL is passing a class and demonstrating basic proficiency and knowledge of gun safety. Find all the information you need to pass a CPL class in Michigan and start carrying legally and responsibly.

What is the Michigan Concealed Pistol License?

The Concealed Pistol License (CPL) is Michigan’s license to carry a concealed weapon (CCW). Having a valid Michigan CPL or CCW allows you to legally carry a concealed gun in public in Michigan and multiple other states.

For instance, if you regularly travel between Michigan and Indiana, your valid Michigan CPL is recognized in Indiana, allowing you to carry in both states. Check a reciprocity map to learn where your CPL is recognized.

Special Requirements to Apply for a Michigan CPL

Michigan is a “shall-issue” state, meaning that the state generally delivers licenses as long as you meet all legal requirements. According to the Michigan State Police, a CPL applicant must typically be:

  • A U.S. citizen or legal permanent resident aged at least 21 years old
  • A legal permanent resident of Michigan for at least 6 months
  • Not be a prohibited person under federal and state laws

If you are a new Michigan resident with a valid CCW license from another state recognized by the state, the 6-month requirement is waived.

CPL classes in Michigan typically feature a classroom portion and a live-fire portion at a shooting range. Bring at least two magazines and a minimum of 100 rounds of ammunition to get the most out of this portion of the CPL class. Ensure the ammunition is new, factory-produced, and from a reputable manufacturer.

State law requires a minimum of 5 hours of classroom instruction and 3 hours of shooting. At the end of the class, you will need the following to obtain your CPL:

  • Participating in 100% of the class
  • Passing a written exam with a score of 70% or better
  • Passing a basic pistol safe handling assessment
  • Pass a basic pistol shooting assessment with a minimum score of 100% per attempt on at least 2 of 3.

Topics Required in a Class to Apply for a Concealed Pistol License

When attending a CPL class in Michigan, the instructors will cover various topics and subjects. Each will help you understand fundamental aspects of gun ownership and concealed carry, from essential safety tips to practical advice regarding the law or self-defense. A 5-hour CPL classroom segment typically covers the following topics:

  • Safe storage. How to securely store your firearm and ammunition and where to install a gun safe.
  • Basic pistol handling and usage. How to load, unload, operate, field strip, and maintain typical concealed carry pistols. If you bring a handgun to the class, the instructors can provide instructions for your make and model.
  • Child safety tips. How to avoid leaving guns unattended or child-accessible, how to use child-proof locks, and how to educate your children about firearms.
  • Ammunition basics. How to recognize ammo of different calibers, load the correct ammunition in your gun, and choose the correct projectile types, such as FMJ, JSP, and JHP, for training, practice, and self-defense.
  • Pistol shooting fundamentals. How to grip your handgun, hold a proper stance, align your sights, press the trigger, and avoid common mistakes to shoot more accurately. The 3-hour range instruction segment of your class will allow you to apply these fundamentals and learn how firearms behave in a controlled environment.
  • Legal advice. Learn how deadly force is defined in Michigan law, when deadly force is justified, and the ethical considerations of resorting to firearms for self-defense.
  • Practical advice. How to recognize signs of a threat, avoid unnecessary dangers, and be a more responsible and aware gun owner.
  • Conflict control. How to avoid conflict, de-escalate a potentially dangerous situation, and techniques to lower the risk of using deadly force.
  • Civil liability. Learning the legal aspects of concealed carry in Michigan and how federal, state, and local firearm laws apply. This segment should also cover situations where civil liability might apply, such as what constitutes negligent or reckless firearm usage.

Get Your CPL With IFA Tactical Training

At IFA Tactical, we are committed to helping the people of Detroit, Sterling Heights, and anyone else in Michigan exercise their Second Amendment rights. We offer instruction, knowledge, and training courses for gun owners of all levels, including state-compliant CPL classes in Michigan. Contact our team today to book a CPL class or learn more about safe and responsible gun ownership.

Our Instructors

Are you considering booking a Michigan CPL course with IFA Tactical? Meet the friendly, kind, and knowledgeable firearms instructors who will help you become responsible concealed-carrying gun owners:

  • Joe Gentilla. A sniper-trained United States Marine Corps veteran and law enforcement officer with 9 years on the force, Joe is a certified NRA pistol and rifle instructor with Glock and AR-15 armorer certification.
  • Michael Pool. Michael is a former reserve police officer and martial arts specialist. He has over 20 years of experience as an NRA pistol instructor and home firearm safety.
  • Robert Allison. Robert has over 9 years of experience as an NRA instructor and range safety officer. He specializes in home firearm safety and Michigan CPL instruction.

FAQs

What are CPL Classes?

A CPL class is a training program designed to provide you with the legally required instruction to receive the Michigan Concealed Pistol License.

Can you take a CPL class online in Michigan?

Some Michigan CPL classes are called hybrid classes because they offer online instruction. However, you cannot take 100% of your CPL class on the Internet; online instruction can only replace the in-person classroom segment. A state-compliant Michigan class must include at least 3 hours at a shooting range, which cannot be replaced with online-only training.

Can a felon get a CPL in Michigan?

No. Individuals convicted of or under investigation for a felony are prohibited from possessing firearms and may not legally obtain a CPL.

How long does a CPL last?

The Michigan Concealed Pistol License is valid until your birthday 5 years from the date of issuance. You can apply for renewal up to 6 months before the expiration date. After the expiration date, while you may not legally carry, a grace period of up to 1 year after expiration allows you to apply for renewal. If you wait beyond the grace period, you will need to apply for a new license.

How much does it cost to take a concealed carry class in Michigan?

The price of a Michigan CPL class varies depending on the instructor, range fees, and other expenses, such as rental gun and ammunition costs. You must also pay a $115 fingerprinting fee. IFA Tactical offers affordable CPL classes at $100 plus $40 for a range pack that includes a rental gun, ammunition, range time, and eye and hearing protection.

How long are CPL classes in Michigan?

The law requires a typical Michigan CPL class to be 8 hours long and have at least 5 hours of classroom training and 3 hours of live-fire training. Some classes can provide additional instruction beyond the legal minimum of 8 hours.

How old do you have to be to take a CPL in Michigan?

You must be at least 21 to apply for a Michigan CPL.

Contact us

Call Now Button