CPL Classes in Troy
As of 2020, almost 20 million Americans possessed concealed-carry permits — 9% of the adult population. In Michigan, if you want to carry a concealed handgun legally, you need a concealed pistol license (CPL). Fortunately, applying for and receiving a Michigan CPL is easy if you meet specific eligibility requirements and complete a training course.
If you live in Troy, Michigan, you need to apply for your permit at the Oakland County Clerk’s office. When you submit your written application, you’ll need to include a CPL class certificate as evidence of training and pay a $100 application fee.
Once submitted, the Michigan State Police have 45 days to either approve or reject your application. However, it usually only takes roughly two weeks. Find out what you need to carry a gun legally in Troy.
CPL Eligibility Requirements
Michigan is a shall-issue state and has been since July 1, 2001. The CPL is Michigan’s CCW (concealed-carry weapon) permit. To apply for a CPL, you need to meet the state’s specific eligibility requirements. For example, you must be at least 21 years of age, a U.S. citizen or lawful permanent resident, a legal resident of Michigan, and demonstrate sufficient knowledge of the safe use and handling of firearms.
The state of Michigan regards the successful completion of an approved concealed pistol license certification class as evidence that you are proficient in using firearms safely. In addition, you must not be a “prohibited person” (someone who cannot legally possess firearms), according to the ATF.
CPL Class Requirements
For a concealed pistol license course to qualify, it must be “certified by this state or a national or state firearms training organization” and provide a minimum of 8 hours of instruction. This will be divided into5 hours in a classroom and 3 hours on a firing range. On the range, you’ll need to fire a minimum of 30 rounds of ammunition to demonstrate proficiency with the firearm. According to the Michigan Legislature, the course must provide instruction in the following topics:
- Safe storage, handling, and use of a pistol
- Knowledge of ammunition and fundamentals of pistol shooting
- Pistol shooting positions
- Firearms laws, including use of deadly force and civil liberties (must be taught by an individual trained in using deadly force or an attorney)
- Controlling violent confrontations and preventing attacks
- Laws applying to concealed pistol carry in Michigan
Upon successful completion of the training course, you will receive a certificate containing your name, the printed name and handwritten signature of the course instructor, and the following statement: “This course complies with section 5j of 1927 PA 372.”
According to the law, as of December 31, 2015, the certificate’s front face must also include the following information:
- Instructor name and phone number
- Name and number of the state agency or firearms training organization (state or national) certifying the instructor for purposes of this section
- Instructor certification number and the expiration date of their certification
- The instructor of the course is certified by a state or national firearms training organization to teach CPL training
The instructor is not required to register with the county clerk.
What to Expect in CPL Classes
When you attend our approved training course, you’ll learn the basic rules of firearms safety. Unintentional discharges are almost always the result of negligence and are preventable. You can avoid these unfortunate mishaps through proper training and familiarization, becoming a safe and effective shooter.
You’ll learn how to load and unload your firearm using snap caps. No live ammunition is permitted in the classroom for the safety of our instructors and students. If you do intend to bring your own firearm to class, notify the instructor.
Knowledge of the law is crucial to the safe and responsible use of firearms in self-defense. A law-enforcement officer teaches the legal part of the course. You’ll learn the deadly-force statutes in Michigan and when you can and can’t draw your weapon.
In live-fire training, you’ll learn how to apply the fundamentals of pistol marksmanship from different positions to hit a man-size target consistently. Practical accuracy, however, is only part of the range session. You’ll learn how to identify and clear malfunctions, such as failures to fire, feed, extract, and eject. If you’re ever forced to use your weapon in self-defense, you should know how to correct these types of stoppages to keep your weapon in the fight.
You must wear adequate hearing and eye protection at all times. Gunshots are loud, and infrequent or occasional exposure without appropriately rated earplugs or muffs can cause permanent hearing loss. Furthermore, your eyes are delicate and can be damaged by spent cartridge casings, flying metal fragments, and unburnt powder particles. For these reasons, you should also wear ballistic glasses.
As ammunition typically contains lead, both in the projectile and the primer, you should wash your hands thoroughly after every shooting session.
Getting Your Michigan CPL
At IFA Tactical, we support the right of Americans to carry concealed firearms for personal protection. Part of exercising that right is knowing how to carry and use firearms safely. If you have questions regarding concealed carry or would like to sign up for our CPL class, give us a call at 586-275-2176.
As you’re waiting for your CPL to arrive, you can experiment with different holster designs and, above all, practice. Shooting is widely regarded as a perishable skill. Without expending valuable ammunition by dry firing, you can practice by pressing the trigger and releasing the hammer or striker on an empty chamber. With some firearms, you’ll need to use a snap cap or dummy cartridge to prevent damage to the firing pin.
You should also consult a reciprocity map if you intend to travel with your CPL CCW. Not every state honors your Michigan CPL, so it’s important to know what states you can safely drive through while armed.