CPL Classes in Detroit
Are you a Motor City resident looking to become a responsible gun owner and concealed-carrying citizen? Learn everything you need to know about CPL classes in the Detroit area.
What is the Michigan CPL?
The Michigan Concealed Pistol License (CPL) is a concealed weapon permit valid in the State of Michigan and recognized by 27 other states. A CPL allows you to carry a concealed weapon anywhere in the state except in areas designated by the Michigan State Police as prohibited premises.
Why Do I Need a CPL Class?
To be eligible for a CPL, you must also meet the following requirements:
- Be a U.S. Citizen or legal permanent resident
- Be at least 21 years of age (you may take a CPL class if you’re 20 but months away from turning 21)
- Be a resident of Michigan for at least 6 months
- Complete an approved firearm safety and training class
- Not meet any of the state-level disqualifying factors as outlined by the Michigan State Police
- Not be a prohibited person as per federal law
Approved classes must be a legal minimum of 8 hours long, including at least 5 hours of classroom training and 3 hours of range time.
What Will I Learn in a CPL Class?
Our trained instructors will teach you essential firearm education, including pistol handling, shooting fundamentals, and beginner-friendly shooting positions and techniques.
A CPL class will also teach you how to avoid a violent encounter, react to criminal behavior, plus when and where you’re allowed to draw your firearm. The shooting range part of the class lasts three hours and will allow you to apply what you’ve learned with live-fire training against targets.
What Happens After I Finish the Class?
You will receive a certificate of completion, which is one of the documents you’ll need to submit when applying for a CPL. Once you have it, you may visit the Wayne County clerk’s office and submit the following:
- Your certificate of completion
- A filled-out CPL application
- Passport-grade identification photographs
The processing fee for a CPL application in Wayne County is $100. You will then have your fingerprints taken by local law enforcement. You should then be able to receive your CPL in the mail within 45 days.
How Do I Renew My CPL?
Your license is valid until your birthdate between 4 and 5 years after your date of issue.
You will receive a notification that your license is approaching expiration between 3 and 6 months before the deadline.
There are no CPL renewal classes. If your license has been expired for less than 12 months, simply reapply at the Wayne County clerk’s office, pay the renewal fees, and sign any required documents and affidavits. If your license has expired for 12 months or more, you must start the process over and retake a CPL class as if you were a new applicant.
Get Your CPL With IFA Tactical Training
IFA Tactical Training is committed to providing Michiganders with the training, knowledge, and confidence to be armed and responsible citizens. If you’re interested in joining one of our classes, give us a call at (586) 275-2176 to register.